---
title: "What is this $5 charge from upgrading to pay as you go (PAYG)?"
description: "Learn more about the $5 pre-authorization hold that will be refunded."
---

# What is this $5 charge from upgrading to pay as you go (PAYG)?

When you upgrade to a Pay As You Go \(PAYG\) plan, Alchemy places a temporary $5 pre-authorization hold on your payment method. This is not an actual charge—it’s a standard verification step used to confirm your card’s validity.

The hold is automatically canceled after verification by our payment processor Stripe, which typically happens in 7 days. Then your bank usually immediately releases the hold but it could take a few days longer depending on the bank.

Alchemy does **not collect** this $5, and you **won’t be billed** for it. Once released, the authorization will disappear from your statement.
